Hardik Pandya to lead Mumbai Indians IPL 2024, Rohit’s golden journey is over

Hardik Pandya to lead Mumbai Indians IPL 2024, Rohit's golden journey is over
Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya (Image Source - X/@mumbai_indians)
Rohit Sharma's journey as captain ended with Mumbai. Mumbai Indians have appointed Hardik Pandya as the team captain for IPL 2024. Rohit Sharma has captained the team since 2013. The team had won five titles under his captaincy.

IPL franchise Mumbai Indians have appointed Hardik Pandya as the team captain for the upcoming season. Rohit Sharma has been commanding the team for the last 10 years. But this time, the franchise has made a big deal before the upcoming season and re-added Hardik Pandya to the team and has announced his appointment as the captain before the IPL mini-auction on Friday (December 15). Rohit Sharma, who made Mumbai Indians the IPL champion 5 times, will no longer captain this team in the next season. The IPL auction is scheduled to take place on December 19.

In a press release on Friday, Mumbai Indians Global Head of Performance Mahela Jayawardene said, “Mumbai Indians have always been blessed with exceptional leadership, from Sachin to Harbhajan and from Ricky to Rohit, who have contributed to their immediate success along with – Along with this, an eye has also been kept on strengthening the team for the future. It is in line with this philosophy that Hardik Pandya will take over the captaincy of Mumbai Indians for the IPL 2024 season.

Mumbai Indians today made a major change in the leadership group for the upcoming 2024 season.
Rohit Sharma, one of the most successful and favorite captains, has been removed from the post of captain. Hardik Pandya will replace him. Mumbai Indians have made a full cash trade of Hardik Pandya from Gujarat Titans for Rs 15 crore ahead of the IPL 2024 auction.

Due to this, the speculations had intensified that maybe Hardik Pandya should be made the team captain for the next season and today the franchise has proved it right by making Hardik the captain. Although Rohit Sharma will not be the captain of this team, but he will be seen playing for the team. This time Mumbai had retained Rohit Sharma.

Hardik Pandya made Gujarat Titans the winner

Hardik Pandya left Mumbai and joined Gujarat Titans in the year 2022 and then became the captain of this team. Under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, Gujarat Titans performed well and made it to the finals both times. Gujarat Titans also became champions under the leadership of Hardik Pandya in IPL 2022. After this, Gujarat became champion in the year 2022, but then this team was the runner-up in 2023. It is noteworthy that Hardik Pandya made his debut in IPL in 2015 and remained associated with Mumbai Indians till 2021.

Mumbai became champion five times under the captaincy of Rohit

When Rohit Sharma became the captain of Mumbai Indians, this team had not become an IPL winner even once. But as soon as Hitman became the captain, this team was transformed and under his captaincy, this team achieved the distinction of becoming champion five times. In 2013, Rohit Sharma took command of Mumbai Indians. This season, Mumbai had not had a good start under the leadership of Ricky Ponting. After this, the franchise chose Rohit Sharma as the captain of the team, and then he did not look back. Rohit Sharma became the team champion five times under his leadership.

This is a record in the history of IPL because Rohit Sharma became the first captain to make his team the champion 5 times in IPL. Apart from Mumbai, Chennai captain MS Dhoni has successfully won the title five times. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai had done wonders in winning the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Rohit Sharma became the captain of this team in the year 2013 and his golden journey of a decade as captain with this team came to an end.

Rohit Sharma’s performance as captain

Rohit Sharma captained Mumbai Indians for 10 years and during this time, under his captaincy, the team played 158 matches in which the team won 87 matches and lost 67 matches. During this time 4 matches were tied. Mumbai Indians announced the removal of Rohit Sharma from the captaincy through a press release and the team’s Global Head of Performance Mahela Jayawardene said that we have taken this decision keeping the future in mind, And Hardik Pandya was appointed the captain of the team in place of Rohit Sharma.

Win/Loss Ration1.29
IPL Titles5 Times

Mumbai thanked Rohit

After removing Rohit Sharma from the captaincy, he was thanked through a press release issued by Mumbai Indians. Mumbai side said that we thank him for his exceptional captaincy and the way he has captained the team since 2013 and led it to success is amazing.

Under the guidance of Rohit Sharma, one of the best captains in the history of IPL, Mumbai Indians became one of the most successful and favorite teams of all time.

We look forward to his guidance and experience on and off the field to further strengthen Mumbai Indians. We welcome Hardik Pandya as the new captain of Mumbai Indians and wish him all the best.

Read Also – IPL 2024: After Hardik returns, AB de Villiers gave a shocking view on the captaincy of Mumbai Indians

For getting more updates, follow CricoTalks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


Related Posts