IND vs AUS: KL Rahul will step in to captain the ODI against Australia, Know his record in ODIs against Australia

IND vs AUS: KL Rahul will step in to captain the ODI against Australia, Know his record in ODIs against Australia
KL Rahul (Image Source - Twitter)
IND vs AUS: In the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul will lead Team India in place of Rohit Sharma in the first two ODIs against Australia. He has already captained the Indian ODI team.

Ind vs Aus ODI series 2023: Before the World Cup 2023, the teams of India and Australia are ready to play a three-match ODI series. The first ODI of the series will be played at IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on 22 September. Under the captaincy of KL Rahul, the Indian team has to play the first two matches of the three-match ODI series against Australia. This will be a big test for KL Rahul as captain and as a batsman, there will be a lot of pressure on him to prove himself because he will not have batsmen like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli with him in both these matches.

The big players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya, have been rested for the first two ODIs. There is no doubt that the Kangaroo team is a strong side and KL Rahul will have to work hard to defeat them. Well, this is not the first time that KL Rahul will take the field as captain in ODI. Let us tell you how his captaincy record has been so far in other formats of cricket including ODI.

Performance of KL Rahul as captain

When KL Rahul takes the field in the first ODI match against Australia in Mohali, it will be his 8th ODI match as captain. Before this, he captained India in 7 ODI matches in which Team India has won 4 matches while it has faced defeat in 3 matches. Their win percentage in ODIs has been 57.14.

Talking about KL Rahul’s captaincy, he has also captained India in the Test format and as captain, he has played 3 Test matches for the Indian team. In these three tests, Team India has won 2 while facing defeat in one. KL Rahul’s win percentage as captain in Test format has been 66.66. At the same time, he represented Team India as captain in a T20 match which the Indian team won.

His win percentage in these matches has been 100 percent. KL Rahul also captains the IPL and in this league, out of 51 matches played so far as captain, he has won 25 while facing defeat in 24 matches and his winning percentage in this league has been 50.98.

KL Rahul recently made a comeback after an injury in the Asia Cup. He missed the group stage matches of Asia Cup 2023, but due to an injury to Shreyas Iyer at the last moment against Pakistan in Super-4, he was included in the playing eleven.

The right-handed batsman batted brilliantly. KL grabbed the opportunity with both hands and played an excellent inning of 106 runs in 111 balls. During this, he also made a tremendous partnership of 223 runs with Kohli (122*). After this, Rahul scored 39 runs against Sri Lanka.

Read Also – Is the Indian team relying on KL Rahul?

KL’s ODI performance against Australia

However, we will talk about how Rahul has performed against Australia in ODIs in this article. Let us tell you that KL has played 11 ODI matches against the Kangaroo team in which he has scored 392 runs at an excellent average of 43.55. But he has not yet been able to score a century in the ODI format against the Australian team.

He has played seven of the 11 ODI matches against Australia at home, scoring 280 runs at an average of 48. He played three matches in Australia and scored 93 runs at an average of 31. While one match is played at a neutral venue. He scored 11* off three balls at the Oval during the 2019 World Cup in England.

Rahul has scored three half-centuries against the Kangaroo team in ODIs. In which his highest score so far is 80 runs in 52 balls, which was made in Rajkot in January 2020. Second ODI half-century (76) scored in Sydney in November 2020. The third half-century (75) was scored at Wankhede Stadium in March this year.

Team India for two games against Australia

KL Rahul (captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Indian team for third ODI against Australia

Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya, (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj.

Read Also – IND vs AUS: The ODI match will be played in PCA Stadium after 54 months, Know how the weather and pitch will be in Mohali

For getting more updates, follow CricoTalks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


Related Posts