Shweta Sehrawat to lead India A in the Emerging Women’s Asia Cup

Shweta Sehrawat to lead India A in the Emerging Women's Asia Cup
Shweta Sehrawat is to lead India A in Emerging Women's Asia Cup 2023 (Photo- Twitter)
Many key players of the U-19 World Cup winning team will take part in this tournament to be held in Hong Kong.

India has announced the India A squad for the Emerging Women’s Asia Cup in Hong Kong. The tournament will be played from June 12-21. Many key players of the Under-19 Women’s World Cup winning team have got a place in this team.

“The All-India Women’s Selection Committee on Friday selected the India A team for the upcoming ACC Emerging Women’s Asia Cup,” the BCCI said in a release.

Shweta Sehrawat, who played a key role in India’s title win in South Africa, has been named captain of the India A team, which includes her U-19 teammates Soumya Tiwary, G Trisha, Titas Sadhu, Parshvi Chopra and Mannat Kashyap.

The BCCI has appointed former all-rounder Noushin Al Khadeer as the head coach. Khadeer headed the backroom staff during the U-19 World Cup campaign in January. In addition, she was the assistant coach of Gujarat Giants in the Women’s Premier League in March.

Sehrawat topped the run charts in the World Cup with 297 runs in seven innings. While 17-year-old Parshvi was one of the youngest players in the WPL, she took 11 wickets in six innings. She was the second-highest wicket-taker bowler in that tournament.

The selectors also rewarded 20-year-old Shreyanka Patil and Kanika Ahuja for their performances in the WPL. The pair was playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Patil impressed with her prowess in the lower order and her off-spin in the death overs, while Kanika displayed a fine display of power hitting.

Titas, Mannat and Chandigarh’s Kashvi Gautam will lead the pace attack. Jhulan is very optimistic about Titas, and she is enjoying her bowling.

India A are in Group A of the Emerging Women’s Asia Cup and will open their campaign against hosts Hong Kong on June 13. After this, the Indian team will play against Thailand A and Pakistan A on June 15 and June 17. Bangladesh A, Sri Lanka A, Malaysia and the UAE are in Group B. The top two teams from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals.

India Women A Team:
Shweta Sehrawat (Captain),
Soumya Tiwari (Vice-Captain),
Trisha Gongadi,
Muskan Malik,
Shreyanka Patil,
Kanika Ahuja,
Uma Chhetri (Wicket-Keeper),
Mamta Madiwala (Wicket-Keeper),
Titas Sadhu, Yashashree S,
Kashvi Gautam,
Parshvi Chopra,
Mannat Kashyap,
B. Anusha.

India has won the title only once

This is going to be the 5th edition of the Emerging Women’s Asia Cup. For the first time, it was organized in Singapore in 2013, in which the Indian team became the winner by defeating Pakistan. Then Sri Lanka won the 2017 and 2018 tournaments. The last time this tournament was held in the year 2019 in Bangladesh, which was won by Pakistan.

For getting more updates, follow CricoTalks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


Related Posts