IND vs AFG: Is the path clear for Sanju Samson for the T20 World Cup 2024?

IND vs AFG: Is the path clear for Sanju Samson for the T20 World Cup 2024?
Sanju Samson (Image Source - Twitter/@BCCI)
Sanju Samson has returned to the T20 team. He got a chance in the team in the IND vs AFG T20 series. Sanju played the last T20 International match in August 2023.

The Indian team has been announced for the series of three T20 matches against Afghanistan. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have returned to the T20 team after nearly a year for this series starting on January 11. With their return to this team, it has become clear that both of them will also play in the T20 World Cup to be held in June. Apart from Virat and Rohit, Sanju Samson has also made a comeback.
Sanju has been picked for the IND vs AFG T20 team after August 2023.

Sanju Samson in the T20 World Cup race

Till now it was believed that Sanju Samson would not be able to make a place in the team for the T20 World Cup, Because wicketkeeper batsmen like KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan are already holding their place in the team, But by dropping Ishan from the team for this series, the selectors have indicated that Sanju is in the race for the T20 World Cup. KL Rahul has been rested by the selectors while Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya are injured.

The India vs Afghanistan series will be special for Sanju

Apart from Sanju, Jitesh Sharma has been included in the team as the second wicketkeeper for the T20 series against Afghanistan. Although making space for Jitesh for the T20 World Cup seems a bit challenging, for Sanju, this opportunity will be very special.

This will be the last chance for every player to prove themselves before the IPL. The World Cup will start right after the IPL.

Team India for the Afg vs Ind T20 series

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Also Read – Indian squad announced for IND vs AFG T20 series, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli return after 14 months

For getting more updates, follow CricoTalks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


Related Posts