WTC Final: Was there deception with India? Was it a true clean catch?

WTC Final: Was there dishonesty with India? Was it really a clean catch?
Was it really a clean catch?
The third umpire saw the replay of Green's catch several times. Green's finger was under the ball, according to the third umpire. However, it was not clearly visible from any camera viewpoint. The ball appeared to have touched the ground when Green fell to the ground, and he cleverly claimed the catch.

The World Test Championship final between India and Australia is being played at The Oval in England. To win the match, Team India must score 444 runs. On the fourth day, Saturday (10th June), India made a dismal start in their second innings.

Shubman Gill, who won the Orange Cap in the IPL, was out in the second innings after scoring 18 runs off 19 balls. Cameron Green pounced on Scott Boland’s delivery. However, there are some who question Green’s catch, believing that he did not take the ball cleanly.

Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma got India off to a solid start in the second innings. In seven overs, they scored 41 runs together. Both batters appeared to be playing in the style of ODIs during the Test match.

Australian captain Pat Cummins asked Scott Boland to bowl in the eighth over. Boland delivered the opening ball with authority. Gill attempted to defend himself, The ball, though, took the outside edge and found Cameron Green in the slip cordon. Green dove to his left and caught the ball with one hand.

Was the third umpire unable to clearly see it on the camera?

The third umpire saw the replay of Green’s catch several times. Green’s finger was under the ball, according to the third umpire. However, it was not clearly visible from any camera viewpoint. It appeared that when Green dropped to the ground, the ball made contact with the ground, and he then cleverly claimed the catch. Despite this, the umpire ruled in favour of Gill. After seeing this, Indian fans were outraged and dubbed it dishonesty on social media. Even the Indian spectators at The Oval began yelling ‘cheater, cheater’.

Rohit turned in a complaint with the umpire.

Renowned spinners Harbhajan Singh and Deep Dasgupta, who was commentating, were also sceptical. They both assumed Gill was still alive. Meanwhile, at the other end of the pitch, captain Rohit Sharma was taken aback by the third umpire’s judgement and shook his head in displeasure. Rohit even appealed to the on-field umpire about the decision and described the catch. Apart from Rohit, two former Indian openers, Wasim Jaffer and Virender Sehwag, posted images on social media mocking the umpire’s judgement.

For getting more updates, follow CricoTalks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.


Related Posts